Jordana and Jerome

J

Jordana is a Spanish, Portuguese, English, and Macedonian name, obviously the male form of Jordan. It’s taken from the name of the Jordan (Yarden) River in Israel, which is more like a creek than a big river. I’ve been in the Jordan river and gone past it, and I can personally testify that it’s not as epic as the songs make it out to be.

I love this name. It’s so gorgeous and underused. It also makes me think of Jordana Ben Canaan in the Leon Uris novel Exodus. (The film adaptation makes a complete mockery of the book, one of the worst book to movie adaptations I’ve ever suffered through.) Instead of naming your daughter Jordan or Jordyn, why not use the actual feminine form of the name and make her stand out from the crowd?

Jerome is an English name taken from the Greek Hieronymos, which means “sacred name.” If I were Catholic, I’d have taken Saint Jerome to be my patron saint, since he was such an awesome person, with such an incredible mind. He’s the patron saint of librarians, translators, students, scholars, encyclopedists, schoolchildren, archaeologists, Biblical scholars, and writers. Many writers choose him as their patron saint since he was such a man of letters himself, and they feel he understands them deeply.

My secondary character Father Rudolf Erlichmann (Father Rudi) names his church in Kassel, Germany after Saint Jerome. Father Rudi is also a man of letters, a brilliant intellectual, a world traveller, a hyperpolyglot, so many things Saint Jerome stands for. As a huge Three Stooges fan, I also love the name because Curly’s real name was Jerome. I have a cute stuffed chipmunk whom I named Jerome, after Curly. When I found out he had a real-life limp, I no longer felt ashamed about my own limp.

2 comments on “Jordana and Jerome

  1. jess says:

    Love the name Jordana. Interesting theme. Thanks for sharing. Hope you’re enjoying the A to Z Challenge.

  2. The names “Jordan” and “Jordana” do not derive from the river name, though the exposure of the river to Europe by the Crusaders, who brought back water from the river for baptismal purposes, certainly increased the use of the name in the 11th and 12th C, due to the similarities. The root is Old German “Jurdanes”, of uncertain origin but possibily related to Old Norse “jordh”, meaning ‘land’. For more information, see Withycombe, Oxford Dictionary of English Christian Names, s.n. Jordan.

Share your thoughts respectfully

