A to Z Reflections Post

A-to-Z Reflection [2014]

I was pretty disappointed that my new names blog didn’t get nearly as much traffic as I’d been hoping during the A to Z Challenge.  I know it’s only a few months old, but I thought I’d at least get at least 10 hits for each post, and a lot more comments.

I put a lot of work into making the posts, what with looking up all these names, finding their meanings, fixing the Frenchified transliterations from the UUCN source I used for most of the names, writing the posts, and looking up other sources.  They were also all super-short, so no one can claim s/he skipped them because they were 1,000+ words!

Possibly an issue was that when I commented back by other people’s blogs, my signature only led them to my main writing blog, not this one.  As far as I can tell, one can’t add more than one non-Blogger blog to one’s profile page by that service. (And yes, I’ve fallen into the grammatically incorrect habit of using “by” as an all-purpose preposition, thanks to hearing my Orthodox friends say it so much!)

At least I did get some exposure for this blog, and it’s still very new.  Maybe by next year at this time, I’ll have more followers and presence.

I’m thankful for everyone who did stop by here and learn something new. Even though many of the names I profiled weren’t exactly names I’d recommend for anyone, they were all names I found interesting. My fout most-viewed posts were for Zarema and Zoriy (15 hits), Beatrisa and Bulat (14), Chelnaldina and Chingiz (13), and Elektron and Erlena (12). A few other posts had 9, 8, or 7 hits each, while other posts had fewer hits each. My least-viewed were Roblen and Revmira (1), Trolezin and Traktorina (1), Uslada and Uryuvkos (2), Hermine and Haakon (2), Xylona and Ximun (2), and Yanvar and Yunnata (2).

My main blog will have more thoughts on the Challenge.

2 comments on “A to Z Reflections Post

  1. Alex Hurst says:

    I’m sorry this blog didn’t get more hits either… 😦 That’s really too bad, as this was the challenge I enjoyed more (though I liked both). This blog is still in my reader, so you’ve definitely got at least one fan! 😉

  2. clicksclan says:

    Congratulations on completing the challenge.

    It’s a shame you didn’t get more hits during the month. I struggled to get through the list because the sheer size of it was sort of overwhelming. That’s why I’m now going through the Reflections List and the Road Trip to catch up on the blogs that I missed. 🙂

Share your thoughts respectfully

