Likes and surprises of the SSA 2013 girls’ list, continued

As promised, here are the names I like or which surprise me on the bottom half of the 2013 Top 1000 girls’ list.

#501, Lorelei. Glad to know some people know how to spell this name correctly and aren’t using the Lorelai misspelling popularised by the overrated Gilmore Girls.

#505, Sylvia. Another old lady name I’m surprised to see slowly making a comeback. Time will tell if it gets more popular, or if it remains in the lower reaches.

#510, Fernanda. Beautiful, under the radar name.

#519, Anne. I don’t think I’ve known any Ann(e)s within 10-20 years my age. Regardless of how geriatric some people might find it (I don’t), it’s refreshing to see it used as a forename instead of a filler middle name.

#525, Gloria. Another name I don’t exactly associate with people under the age of fifty!

#528, Elsa. This is one of those names that’s really sweet and pretty in its simplicity.

#533, Rosemary. Wonder if the Rose names (Rose, Rosemary, Rosalind, Rosemarie, Rosalie, Rosalia, Rosalba) will start becoming more popular.

#549, Helena. Always loved this name.

#550, Blake. I actually never thought of this as a boys’ name, because of the awesome Blake from Guiding Light. This is one of those rare masculine names I prefer on a girl.

#551, Virginia. Didn’t realise this name was becoming more popular. I can only remember knowing one Virginia who was my age. She had flaming red hair.

#570, Hattie. Cute name, and keeping with the old lady names trend, but I’d prefer to see it as a nickname for something more substantial, not a full name in its own right.

#573, Marie. Love seeing this as a forename instead of a thoughtless middle name!

#574, Regina. Love this name, and have preferred it with the hard G sound since seeing the amazing German film Nowhere in Africa.

#575, Isis. I love the image this evokes of Ancient Egypt.

#593, Beatrice. Gorgeous name, which I’ve loved since reading The Divine Comedy.

#595, Greta. I know it’s a nickname, but I don’t mind it as a full name. Obviously, this immediately calls to mind the beautiful, talented Garbo.

#598, Millie. Continuing the trend of names that were considered geriatric not that long ago.

#604, Amelie. This will probably be the next replacement name for Emily and Emma, after Amelia and Emilia get played-out in a few years.

#620, Amina. Beautiful Arabic name.

#640, Irene. I always liked this name, and never thought of it as an old lady name even after finding out it was most popular in the early 20th century.

#643, Linda. Shocked to see this name so popular! When I think of the name Linda, I picture a middle-aged woman, not a baby.

#645, Matilda. Always liked this name.

#648, Juniper. Nature names are hit and miss for me, but this is one of the hits. It sounds like a real person’s name, instead of silly like River, Lake, Lark, Meadow, or Ocean.

#661, Claudia. Always loved this name.

#664, Kathleen. Like Linda, I also associate this name with aging Boomers.

#664, Mira. I like that this name can function as either a nickname or a full name.

#673, Winter. As far as season names go, I think this is my favourite, even more than the popular Autumn.

#675, Simone. This name only started to grow on me in recent years; earlier, I associated it with snobs.

#677, Pearl. One of the jewel/gemstone names I like, though it does seem very geriatric.

#680, Patricia. Another name that seems welded to Boomers instead of young girls.

#682, Brenna. I’ve liked this name for a long time, even though it was a bit trendy in the Nineties. It sounds fresher than Brianna in all its 101 spellings, and I think it works on someone of any age.

#689, Nancy. Another Boomer name that might be making a subtle comeback.

#693, Frances. I didn’t think many people were even considering this name for their kids anymore!

#700, Ellen. A lot of these names are really surprising me, since I only thought of them as belonging to women of a certain generation. There’s nothing wrong with them on that account, but they just seem like the Jennifer or Tiffany of their respective eras.

#704, Chaya. I’m sure a good proportion of these girls are Lubavitch, since every family has numerous Chaya Mushkas. Seriously, you have to specify which one you want if you ask for Mushkie or Chaya Mushka (or whatever other nicknames are popular). You can’t just say the name and expect the right one to come.

#719, Edith. Can only picture this on older women.

#748, Eileen. Another old lady name I’m surprised anyone still uses.

#749, Livia. Always loved this name, and hope it never becomes the replacement for the über-popular Olivia.

#760, Denise. This name seems very middle-aged to me.

#761, Hadassah. Wonder why this is one of the Hebrew names on the Top 1000. I don’t dislike it, but I personally wouldn’t use it.

#766, Sandra. Another middle-aged name.

#788, Chana. I do understand the popularity of this Hebrew name, since I know quite a few Chanas in the frum community.

#803, Martha. I don’t exactly associate this name with babies and small children.

#807, Wren. One of the Nature names I like.

#808, Dorothy. Who doesn’t think of this as an old lady name? Dorothea sounds younger and fresher.

#814, Deborah. One of the quintessential Boomer names.

#818, Yasmin. Love this name!

#824, Joyce. Another older name, and a name which seems a bit serious and mature for a baby. If I were using this name, I’d probably call her Joy until she got older.

#833, Aurelia. Gorgeous name.

#838, Barbara. Nothing wrong with the name, but I have a very hard time picturing it on anyone under fifty.

#843, Milena. Love this name.

#844, Susan. I know it’s one of the quintessential Boomer names, but for some reason, it doesn’t sound as stale and dated as other Boomer names. I can more easily picture a younger Susan than I can, say, a Linda, Debbie, or Barbara.

#866, Ivory. A Nature name I like, though not everyone could pull it off.

#891, Patience, and #892, Temperance. Puritan/Pilgrim Virtue names have long been a guilty pleasure of mine. I’d never actually use one, but it’s neat to see them on other people.

#910, Marjorie. Another older name I don’t associate with small children.

#932, Amalia. Wonder how long it’ll take for this one to get up there as a new replacement for Emma and Emily.

#962, Giovanna. Beautiful Italian name.

#989, Astrid. Cute and quirky.

One comment on “Likes and surprises of the SSA 2013 girls’ list, continued

  1. I think some of the names you note surprise at due to their apparent generational marking can be explained by looking at different American subcultures — for example,Linda is very much a middle-aged name only among white women. Among Hispanics, it has always been more common, and hence doesn’t have that same generational flavor.

Share your thoughts respectfully

