Yumiko and Yaron

Y

Yumiko is a Japanese name meaning “archery bow” (yumi) and “child” (ko), or “reason” (yu), “beautiful” (mi), and “child” (ko). Like many Japanese and Chinese names, the meaning depends upon the characters with which it’s written.

Yaron is a modern Hebrew name meaning “to sing.” I fell in love with the name the moment I saw it, and used it for one of the characters of the currently youngest generation in my Atlantic City books.

6 comments on “Yumiko and Yaron

  1. jazzfeathers says:

    Isn’t it fascinating that a name with the same sound can have different meanings depending on how it’s written? 🙂

  2. chrysfey says:

    I’ve heard of the name Yumiko before. 🙂

  3. Ula says:

    Yaron is a great name.

  4. I love Asian names because of all the meanings they can have. But foreign names in general are always pretty to me. I love using them in my own stories.

    Fulfilling Dreams

  5. stephen tremp says:

    I’m just plain Steve.

    Stephen Tremp
    A to Z Co-host
    Z is for Zombie
    http://www.stephentremp.com

  6. […] views) Violante and Vieri (11 views) Wulfric and Wafiya (8 views) Xiomara and Xochipilli (14 views) Yumiko and Yaron (12 views) Zinevra and Zima (16 […]

Share your thoughts respectfully

