Assorted thoughts on the Top 100 boys’ names of 2014

To save time and space, I’m not going through every single Top 100 name. As always, these are just my opinions. It doesn’t mean you have to dislike or like the same names I do, or that I’m in need of some lecture because I have a certain opinion you don’t share.

1. Noah. I don’t particularly like this name, but I don’t hate it either. It’s just one of those “not my style” names. I’m not sure just why it’s become this popular.

2. Liam. I used to love this name and think it was really cute. I even have a character named Liam, born in 1984 and created in 1998, ahead of the trend. Now I’m annoyed at how oversaturated it’s become. It’s even overused in YA and NA books, of course on characters who would’ve been born ahead of the trend and would be more likely to have names like Justin or Ryan. At least my fictional Liam born ahead of the trend has that name because his father is a proud Irish–American. If you’re going to give your character an outlier name, at least have a plausible reason for it.

3. Mason. Yet another “not my style” name I’m baffled at the huge popularity of.

4. Jacob. I prefer the Jakob spelling.

5. William. A solid classic, though I don’t know very many young Williams. Perhaps I just don’t live in the right area.

6. Ethan. I honestly never liked this name. Though I have no personal associations with it, it’s always struck me as a spoilt brat’s name, the children of yuppies with more money than sense.

7. Michael. And to think that not all that long ago in the U.S., this name was considered too Catholic for Protestants to use. Now it’s one of the most common male names on people of all religions.

13. Logan. Yuck. The bully I knew in seventh grade ruined this name forever for me, to the point where I now have an immediate visceral reaction to it. By the time I met an awesome Logan in my social psychology class my junior year of university, the damage had long since been done.

14. Aiden. Sad that a misspelling is more popular than the real spelling. This ugly misspelling makes me want to pronounce it Ay-DEN, not AYD-an.

15. Jayden. Why is this name even popular? It doesn’t sound serious or professional.

21. Anthony. Another “not my style” name. I also associate this name with spoilt brats and yuppie kids, though I don’t have any such personal associations.

23. Samuel. I really wish my all-time favoritest male name wouldn’t be this high up. At least it’s a steadily popular classic, like David and Daniel, though I still wish it would be lower in popularity like my next-favorite male name, Peter.

25. Joshua. Never saw the appeal of this name, coupled with how most Joshes seem to be jocks and frat boys.

26. John. It’s always a surprise to see this name so low down, after centuries of being the most popular male name, even in other languages.

27. Carter. Not a fan of surnames as forenames.

29. Dylan. It’s sad how many people naming their sons Dylan have never even heard of Bob Dylan or Dylan Thomas. You obviously don’t have to name your son Dylan because of them, but I’d expect someone to at least be aware of famous bearers.

32. Oliver. I love this name, and hope it doesn’t get much more popular.

33. Henry. Another name once considered too geriatric to be hip, now reclaimed by hipsters and yuppies.

34. Sebastian. A “not my style” name, coupled with the fact that I’ve always thought John Sebastian has a kind of annoying voice. There are only a few of his songs I can bear to listen to.

39. Wyatt. Not a fan of these “li’l buckaroo” names.

40. Hunter. Never saw the appeal of this name. What if he grows up to be an anti-hunting activist? It’s certainly possible to be an ethical hunter, but you can give your child a name reflecting your interests without being so in-your-face. Though at this point, I assume most people are just using it because it’s tryndy.

41. Jack. I don’t particularly mind this as a legal name, since it has a fair bit of history of being used as such. However, I still prefer it as a nickname for John or Jakob.

42. Christian. We don’t name kids Jewish, Buddhist, or Muslim. What if he grows up to be an atheist or converts to another religion?

43. Landon. Not my style. Surnames as forenames aren’t what I’m into.

46. Jaxon. Because Jackson was too hard to spell?

53. Cameron. Not my style.

55. Jordan. Never saw the appeal of this name, though at least it’s still being used by boys instead of completely taken over by girls.

58. Evan. Another “not my style” name.

59. Adrian. I absolutely love this name!

60. Gavin. This name has always sounded like a spoilt yuppie brat to me.

62. Brayden. Hate this name. It also sounds like the sound a donkey makes.

66. Austin. Not my style at all. At least it’s no longer as insanely popular as it was a decade ago.

68. Jace. Isn’t this supposed to be a nickname? It sounds too much like the hero of a romance novel, not that there’s anything wrong with romance novels.

70. Kevin. Is this name still on the Top 100? It’s a perfectly fine name, but it just seems dated to the previous generation.

71. Brandon. See above.

72. Tyler. Weren’t there already enough of them ten years ago?

74. Ayden. An even worse misspelling is still more popular than the real spelling!

75. Jason. I really would’ve thought this name had reached its saturation point by 1985, if not sooner.

77. Ian. Not my style.

78. Chase. I’m not a fan of verbs as names.

80. Hudson. How is this name on the Top 100?

83. Easton. Another li’l buckaroo name I’ll pass on.

84. Blake. It was a big surprise to me when I discovered this is supposed to be a male name, since I was introduced to it through the female character Blake Marler on Guiding Light (back in the early Nineties, before it jumped the shark and became The Reva Show).

85. Jaxson. Really, what’s wrong with Jackson?

86. Cooper. Not a fan of surnames as forenames, not to mention the teasing which would probably result in elementary school. You do know what this name rhymes with, don’t you?

87. Lincoln. This is one of the few surnames as forenames I actually like. Again, this isn’t me being inconsistent (as I was baselessly accused of being in my post about nicknames), but just considering how long it’s been used as a forename vs. how recently it became popular.

89. Bentley. Yuck. People who name their kids after cars tend to not have the money to afford those cars. There’s also the association with the firstborn spawn of the repulsive orange Maci from the first season of Teen Mom.

90. Kayden. Yuck. Can this name please go away?

97. Leo. This name is really cute! It’s an example of a cute-sounding name which ages well and sounds mature and professional, unlike Jayden or Kayden.

100. Camden. I’m betting these parents have never even been to Camden, New Jersey.

Share your thoughts respectfully

