A to Z Reflections 2016

A-to-Z Reflection [2016]

This was my third year doing A to Z with this blog, and my fifth year doing it overall. As always, writing posts ahead of time was essential, though this year, I let it wait till March. Thankfully, I managed to get them all done by the end of March. However, I’d already had my list of names in mind for awhile, so I wasn’t making up my list last-minute as well.

As mentioned on my main blog, problems encountered with other blogs included:

Captchas.

Blogs without an ability to leave comments.

Blogs requiring a unique-to-the-blogger commenting service. Sorry, I won’t waste my time going through that whole rigamarole just to leave one comment. The only exception I made was for a blog with a really offensive, hurtful, ableist meme that couldn’t go unchallenged.

Comment moderation. That kind of slows down networking and conversation.

Blogs that quit participating early, or hadn’t posted anything in months, even several years.

People who only signed up to try to pimp their business, and aren’t bloggers at all.

Difficulty finding the actual blog part of a website, or the A to Z posts in particular.

Super-long posts. I’m well aware some folks may find my own posts too long, but I’ve come to learn how to make my average post about 400–800 words over the years. Once in awhile, I may have a post going up to 1,000 words. But when you start climbing well above 1,500 words, unless you have a scholarly-natured blog and aren’t a lay blogger (e.g., Science-Based Medicine), you should really consider either cutting it down or dividing it into several posts.

Post recap:

Averroes and Arachne (23 views)
Beatrice and Brunetto (16 views)
Cornelia and Cerberus (17 views)
Dante and Deianira (14 views)
Electra and Empedocles (9 views)
Francesca and Frederick (7 views)
Ghisolabella and Geryon (21 views)
Horace and Helen (11 views)
Icarus and Iphigenia (27 views)
Judith and Justinian (8 views)
Kadmos and Kalliope (17 views)
Lavinia and Leander (10 views)
Matilda and Manfred (7 views)
Nimrod and Niobe (16 views)
Ovid and Oenone (20 views)
Plutus and Piccarda (10 views)
Quintina and Quirinus (10 views)
Rachav and Rechovoam (9 views)
Statius and Semiramis (16 views)
Tiresias and Tomyris (14 views)
Ulysses and Urania (6 views)
Virgil and Veronica (7 views)
Wenceslaus and Wren (8 views)
Xanthippe and Xerxes (11 views)
Yelikonida and Yulian (6 views)
Zita and Zeno (11 views)

I already think I know what my theme next year will be. Thankfully, since my decision last summer to blacklist the persistently negative commenter I was having problems with for so long, my mind has been much more at ease when I get a comment notification for this blog. Seriously, it’s freaking rude to only ever comment on someone’s blog to tell the blogger her opinion is ridiculous, be a know-it-all, or just generally passively-aggressively berate someone for daring to express one’s opinions on one’s own blog. I had a sick feeling in my stomach every time I saw this commenter’s name, since I knew I was about to read yet another chutzpahdik comment.

One comment on “A to Z Reflections 2016

  1. Tarkabarka says:

    Being a late visitor here, as I am finally catching up after the end of the semester craze 🙂 I really loved your theme, as usual, and enjoyed your thoughtful and well-researched posts 🙂 I can’t wait to see what your theme for next year is going to be! I am glad you are done with the rune commenter. They can really ruin the blogging experience.

Share your thoughts respectfully

