My favorite Jul- names

I’ve always loved the Jul- names, including the Yul- variations found in some Slavic languages. These are some of my favorites:

1. Julia. This popular classic is found in English, German, Dutch, the Scandinavian languages, Spanish, Finnish, and Polish. In Spanish, the J is pronounced like a sharp H, and in all the other languages besides English, the J is pronounced like a Y. Júlia is the Hungarian, Catalan, Slovakian, and Portuguese variation.

2. Julie. This is the French form, and also quite popular in English. It strikes me as one of those names which, in spite of only getting popular/trendy fairly recently, doesn’t have a dated feel to it. Another name of this sort is Lauren. In spite of having been most popular in another generation, it doesn’t really have a time stamp or one particular age I associate with it.

3. Julian. This is an English, German, and Polish name, with the J pronounced like a Y in Polish and German. It sounds so soft and romantic. However, historically, this was actually a lot more popular as a girls’ name.

4. Yulian. I recently covered this name in the male half of this year’s Y post for A to Z. It’s the Russian and Bulgarian form of Julian. I love the nickname Yulik.

5. Julieanna, Juliana, Julianna. This is an English, Dutch, German, Portuguese, and Spanish name. I have a character named Julieanna, and used that spelling because I was all of 11 years old when I created her and thus didn’t realise that’s not really the most traditional or refined spelling.

6. Juliet, Juliette. Juliet is the familiar English form, first used by Shakespeare, and Juliette is the French form. The French form is traditionally a nickname for Julie.

7. Giulia. This is the Italian form. I knew a Giulia growing up. The diminutive form is Giulietta.

8. Julio. This is a Spanish and Portuguese name, and sounds so strong, romantic, and masculine. I love it because of Julio Desnoyers, the protagonist of The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, an incredible anti-war novel by Vicente Blasco Ibáñez. In 1921, it was magnificently adapted to the silver screen and gave Rudy Valentino his big break.

9. Julietta. This is the Polish form of Juliet, and an English elaborated form. Júlíetta is the Icelandic variation.

10. Julissa. This is an English and Spanish name. I personally prefer it pronounced with a long I.

11. Yuliana. This is the Russian and Bulgarian form of Juliana.

12. Yuliya. This is the Russian and Bulgarian form of Julia.

2 comments on “My favorite Jul- names

  1. Ooh, Julissa and Yuliya are both quite unique. I don’t think I’ve ever run across those before. I like them!

  2. Tarkabarka says:

    I like Giulietta 🙂 Also, the Hungarian nickname for Júlia is Julcsa, Julcsi, Julika, or Juliska.

Share your thoughts respectfully

