A to Z with Estonian names

For the third year in a row, I have to make do with a fairly simple theme that’s easy to put together instead of something more detailed, intense, and research-heavy as I did in prior years. I remain hopeful I’ll be able to return to that kind of theme sooner rather than later!

I’ll be featuring Estonian names, with a focus on native Estonian names. I’ve nothing against Estonian forms of classic names like Robert, Katherine, John, and Mary, but I want my lists to stand out. Particularly after Estonia’s Great National Awakening in the 1850s, many Estonians began choosing names unique to their own language and culture. A fair number of these names were created by writers.

Such names became even more popular after Estonia finally won her long-sought independence on 24 February 1918, after being in and out of various foreign occupiers’ hands since 1219. Sadly, they lost their freedom in 1940, and once again suffered the indignity of occupation till 6 September 1991.

May she never fall under occupation again.

Copyright Soerfm

I became an Estophile in 2000, during the last major phase of writing the first draft of my first Russian historical. Totally at random, I made three characters Estonian when I began writing the book on 30 January 1993. At all of thirteen, I chose Estonia from the Soviet republics listed in an outdated 1965 encyclopedia.

For all I cared, Katrin, Anastasiya, and Eliisabet could’ve just as easily been Kazakhs, Ukrainians, Moldovans, Tajiks, or Azeris, but Estonians they were, and what a wonderful twist of Fate that set in motion. Thanks to Katrin, by far the most political, intellectual, and nationalistic of the trio, I fell completely in love with Estonian language, history, literature, culture, you name it.

By the time I finally finished the book on 26 August 2001, I was as passionate about all things Estonian as Katrin.

You’ll learn about names including:

Kaja
Sulev
Endla
Vahur
Pilvi
Tarmo
Meri
Kalev
Luule
Raivo
Urve
Tormi
Vaarika
Aare
Kirsika
Kaido
Helde
Leino
Liivika
Uku
Eha
Mehis

C, F, Q, W, X, Y, and Z aren’t officially part of the Estonian alphabet, and are only used in loanwords and foreign names. Despite their rarity, there are some names starting with C, F, and Z. Since there are no Q, W, X, or Y names I’m aware of, those days will be wildcards.

11 thoughts on “A to Z with Estonian names

Share your thoughts respectfully