The Us of Hebrew names

Female names:

Uzziella means “my weapon is God” in Hebrew. Many years ago, on Baby’s Named a Bad, Bad Thing, one of the many holier than thou name snobs found my submission for that name and the meaning I provided on Name Nerds and made fun of it, saying “My azz it means that, it really means my parents are tryndeighs!” I politely pointed it out it does indeed mean what I said! Those people are so quick to mock names that aren’t immediately familiar. God forbid someone like a name that wasn’t popular in 1900 or isn’t common in the Western world!

Male names:

Uram means “my light, my flame” in Hebrew. This is also a direct form of address meaning “Mister/Sir” in Hungarian.

Uri means “my light” in Hebrew.

Uriel means “God is my light” in Hebrew. The feminine form is Uriella.

Uz means “counselor” in Hebrew.

Uzi/Uzzi means “my power” in Hebrew.

Uziah, Uziyah means “God is my power” in Hebrew. The original form is Uziyahu.

One thought on “The Us of Hebrew names

  1. Pingback: A to Z Reflections 2024 | Onomastics Outside the Box

Share your thoughts respectfully